What are the Forest and Outdoor Leadership Awards?

Levels 5 – 8 for Individuals and Groups

Developing the Forest School and Outdoor Learning Leader

This is a short course introducing the learner to the principles of leadership and underpinning theory based on forest school ethos. The course requires learners to shadow at least one forest school session. The taught elements can be delivered over 3 full day or 6 half day sessions. The course covers content from Units 1 – 5 in the list below.

Level 6: Assistant Forest School and Outdoor Learning Leader

This course trains learners to Assistant Forest School Leader level. Learners need to assist with 3 forest school sessions at a local forest school. The taught elements cover content from Units 1- 6 in the list below and are delivered over 5 days or 10 half day sessions.

Level 8

This is the full leadership award which is scheduled to run once or twice a year in spring and autumn – see here for dates. The FOLA level 8 is recognised by the Forest School Association as equivalent to the Forest School Leader Practitioner award level 3 which qualifies you as a Forest School Leader and to run forest school programmes.

Level 8 is slightly wider than purely forest school and gives practitioners the skills to deliver a range of outdoor learning in different outdoor environments (i.e., not just woodlands) using a forest school approach.
As such the training is quite intense and there is a structured time commitment. The taught elements are delivered over 10 full days (blocks) and there is considerable independent study. The course is designed to be completed in one calendar year.

More Information

For more information, please see our Frequently Asked Questions or contact FOLA@nac.ac.uk

We can deliver leadership awards at levels 5 – 8 for groups at the request of organisations (self-funding.) Group size is 6 min – 12 max.